NEW!  BREAKING NEWS: Top 5 world’s richest people in 2020 Read More

What To know

Laureus World Sportsman/woman of the year (Full Awards list + photos)

1 Mins read

Sportsman of the Year: Rafael Nadal, Sportswoman of the Year: Naomi Osaka.

Tennis icon, Rafael Nadal and reigning Tennis womens world number one, Naomi Osaka, have been named sportsman and sportswoman of the year at the Laureus World Sports awards held digitally on Thursday evening, May 6.

Nadal was given the award for equalling Roger Federer’s haul of 20 Slams while Japanese tennis player and activist, Naomi Osaka clinched the top spot in women’s tennis.

Rafael Nadal

It caps a fine year for Naomi Osaka, 23, who was also named on Time’s list of the 100 most influential people in the world for 2019 and 2020.

Naomi Osaka

Lewis Hamilton was also recognised for his activism over the past year as he was named athlete advocate of the year for his work in highlighting racial injustice against blacks.

.Lewis Hamilton

‘We need to learn from this experience, support one another, and do our best to look ahead.’

‘This past year has been incredibly difficult for so many, but it has also been heartening to see the power of our collective voices spark new conversations and change.” Hamilton said

Liverpool’s Egyptian forward Salah took the sporting inspiration award owing to his advocacy of women’s equality in the Middle East.


Salah said: ‘It was a very difficult year on so many levels and for so many people around the world.

‘Some of us were kept away from our family and friends, and others even lost loved ones.

Full award winners below:

Sportsman of the Year: Rafael Nadal.

Sportswoman of the Year: Naomi Osaka.

Team of the Year: Bayern Munich.

Team of the Year: Bayern Munich.

Breakthrough of the Year: Patrick Mahomes.

Comeback of the Year: Max Parrot.


Lifetime Achievement: Billie Jean King.

Athlete Advocate of the Year: Lewis Hamilton.

Sporting Inspiration: Mo Salah.

Sporting Moment of the Year: Chris Nikic.

Related posts
What To know

JUNE 12: Short Profile of Late Chief MKO Abiola

2 Mins read
The late Nigerian politician, Chief Moshood Kashimawo Olawale Abiola, popularly known as MKO Abiola, won Nigeria’s presidential election on June 12, 1993….
What To know

Meet Britain's Most Famous Executioner Who Killed Nazis, Serial Killers And Even His Own Pal

3 Mins read
There is no doubt that jobs often run in families, with children following their parents into the family trade. Young Albert knew…
What To know

El Salvador Becomes First Country To Adopt Bitcoin As Legal Tender

1 Mins read
A bill has been passed by the El Salvadoran Legislature to make Bitcoin a legal tender in the country. The bill was…
Please SUBSCRIBE for our Latest News


0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x